It’s more than a mixer

9 May

In honor of Mother’s Day, I’m reposting something I wrote on my old (and now defunct) blog on November 1, 2009. 

My mom just gave me my first Kitchen Aid for my birthday. I’ve always wanted one and it’s pretty pathetic that at 11 days away from the age of 44, I just got my first one. I should have bought one a long time ago because I do like to bake, but I just never got around to it. I attempted to make Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins today, but I was talking on the phone while I was marveling at its mixing ability and forgot to add the baking soda. They were, in a word, icky. My oldest BioDaughter said, “They’re a little bit slimey” and the baby liked them but the rest of the batch went in the trash. Still, the Kitchen Aid was pretty awesome, not just ’cause it’s a Kitchen Aid…oh no boys and girls, it’s so much more.

My mom called me last week and said, “So, the phone company sent me a catalog with stuff to choose from for my retirement gift. There’s nothing in it I want, do you want to choose something?” My mom worked for the phone company for 38 years. That’s a long time. The Kitchen Aid represents a lifetime of hard work, sacrifices and a deal with God. My mom was one of the few pregnant unwed mothers in 1965 that actually chose to keep her child (me!) instead of giving it up for adoption. She worked as a dancer, actress, model while I was a little in order to make sure that I was clothed and fed. She made a deal with God that if she would get a “real” job when I started first grade and she did. She began to work with Pacific Bell as an operator and made enough money to send me to Catholic school in Los Angeles. She met my stepdad at Pacific Bell and when they decided that Los Angeles was no place to raise children, it was the phone company that allowed them to transfer to Portland. Years later, when her job was eliminated in Portland, they transferred her up to Seattle, which was a blessing because it allowed her to be close to us for the first four years of most son’s life. She eventually moved back to Portland and alas, has taken the retirement package after 38 years.

In a way, it’s a bit pathetic that after all that time, all she got was a Kitchen Aid. But I know what it took to get it. How many times have you made a deal with God and didn’t hold up your end of the bargain??

I love my mom and not because she gave me a Kitchen Aid for my birthday. I love her because she didn’t give me up for adoption, because she worked hard to make sure that I had everything I needed (honestly, I didn’t know we were poor until I was an adult), and because she loves me even when I am unlovable (and I have been incredibly hateful and ugly to her several times in my life). Thank you Mom. I love you.

Leave a Reply

