“Confessions of a BioMom Gone Bad” in StepMom Magazine (July)

2 Jul

I just had my first article published in StepMom Magazine called “Confessions of a BioMom Gone Bad”* in which I expose my horrible behavior has a BioMom. I was wickedly bad.  It’s not a time in my life that I’m particularly proud of, but I thought it was important to disclose since no one ever talks about the depths to which we as women (not just moms) will stoop to get what we want, regardless of who or what we destroy.  

Have you done something in your role as StepMom, BioMom, Wife or Ex-Wife that you’re not particularly proud of?  Care to share? 

*You need to be a subscriber to view the magazine.  If you aren’t, I will be reprinting in here in a couple of months.

2 Responses to ““Confessions of a BioMom Gone Bad” in StepMom Magazine (July)”

  1. Life of a Stepmama July 6, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I read your article in stepmother magazine and I very much appreacited your honesty. I do agree women go to all sorts of lengths to get what they want or to try and make themselves feel better. I am a stepmom and am now a follower of your blog. We have all done things we are not proud of, but I think what lacks in our world today is people (women) admitting their own wrong doings and taking ownership of it. I will be the first to admit I am not perfect. I get jealous of my stepson, I get jealous over how I feel like an outsider in my own home from time to time and my husband has no idea what I am going through. I am jealous I do not have a child of my own, and I am sad I fell in love with a man who had a baby with someone else, not an ex-wife but a one night stand so to speak and now my life is forever changed because of his poor judgment. Its a tough pill to swallow but I accept the fact I choose my path. I hate having to deal with my BM who I call PEG because she refuses to ever accept responsibility for her actions, she is set on trying to make our marriage fall apart because she has never been married and getting knocked up didn’t get her the life she was hoping to force my husband into. I wish she could see herself for who she truly is and realize she is the issue in all of her own problems. Will she ever realize this? Who knows, but I wish she would hurry up and grow up.
    My point is being able to admit you were wrong is a huge step to take. You should be proud of yourself and how far you have come.

    • BioStep July 7, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      PEG = Parental Egg Donor?

      I felt it was important to “come out” and talk about how I acted as a biomom. So many of us in the stepmom community shared “war stories” in disbelief—but the truth is that woman can and do act like crazed maniacs and then justify the behavior. There is no justification for acting like an idiot (especially when it’s done in front of the children).

      One piece of advice I will give to you (which I’m sure you’ve heard already) is to concentrate on yourself and your relationship. Don’t concern yourself with PEG/biomom and her truckload of issues. You can’t change her or her behavior, you can only change the way you choose to react or not react to it. It’s a hard thing to do, but I’ve found a lot of peace in implementing that into my own life.

Leave a Reply

